Hershel2SPRINGFIELD – The last veteran to earn the Medal of Honor during World War II should be afforded a state funeral and the option to lie in state in the rotunda of the United States Capitol, State Senator Doris Turner said, and successfully passed a resolution through the Illinois Senate Tuesday to urge President Joseph Biden and Congress to make it so.

“I come from a long line of military veterans,” said Turner. “My father and many of my uncles served in World War II, and were among those we have recognized as the Greatest Generation. It’s such an honor to carry this resolution and I am pleased at its adoption. ”

The Medal of Honor is the highest military decoration that is awarded by the U.S. government. The measure seeks to honor the last living Medal of Honor recipient with a homecoming celebration in the United States’ Capitol. The President of the United States has the sole authority to designate a state funeral.

Hershel Woodrow Williams of West Virginia is the last known surviving Medal of Honor recipient who served in World War II.

The measure was favorably adopted without opposition.John Hershel

Category: Press Releases


SPRINGFIELD – State Senator Doris Turner (D-Springfield) is highlighting an opportunity for area airports to apply for funding for improvement projects through the Rebuild Illinois statewide construction program.

“The Illinois aviation system is one of the largest in the nation,” Turner said. “The new funding will allow airports in Central Illinois and across the state to pay for much-needed repairs that will keep passengers safe and our economy strong. It is my hope that local airports take advantage of this opportunity and apply for funding.”

Gov. JB Pritzker and the Illinois Department of Transportation announced that the Rebuild Illinois program will provide $94 million in funding to improve public airports throughout the state. Through a competitive grant process, airports may submit project proposals for updates, improvements, and extensions of their facilities.

Airports must be for public use and included in the Illinois Aviation System Plan to be eligible for the funding. Applications are due June 14 to be eligible for grants of up to $25 million.

Airports in the Central Illinois area eligible to apply for the funding include the Abraham Lincoln Capital Airport, Decatur Airport, Litchfield Municipal Airport and Taylorville Municipal Airport.

Application information is available by visiting IDOT’s Airport Improvement Program page. Awards are anticipated to be announced later this year.

Category: Press Releases

 holmes st schol 042921

SPRINGFIELD – State Senator Doris Turner (D-Springfield) recently honored 144 Central Illinois high school students who were named 2021-22 Illinois State Scholars by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission.

Illinois State Scholar winners rank in approximately the top 10% of the state’s high school seniors from 676 high schools in all 102 counties. Selection is based on a combination of standardized test scores and class rank or unweighted GPA at the end of the student’s junior year. ISAC works in conjunction with the students’ high school guidance counselors to determine the winners.

“This spectacular achievement is a result of hard work and dedication,” said Turner. “I am especially proud of these students’ efforts to persevere while in the middle of a devastating pandemic. Despite the fear and uncertainty this infectious disease has brought on, these students have maintained an esteemed level of academic excellence and I am so proud of each and every one of them.”

The Scholars from the Central Illinois area include students from 17 area high schools, including Morrisonville, Hillsboro, Lincolnwood, Litchfield, Nokomis, Southwestern, Staunton, Bunker Hill, Carlinville, Gillespie, Mt. Olive, North Mac, Sangamon Valley, St. Teresa, Douglas MacArthur, Eisenhower and Lutheran School Association of Decatur high schools.

Recipients of the award will receive a congratulatory letter from ISAC, and a Certificate of Achievement will be sent to their high school. State Scholars will also receive a digital badge issued by ISAC that can be displayed on online profiles, exhibited on social media, and shared with prospective colleges and employers.

More information about the State Scholar program can be found at ISAC’s website.

Category: Press Releases

 ag studies

SPRINGFIELD- State Senator Doris Turner’s (D-Springfield) effort to make agricultural sciences courses count toward Illinois university admissions requirements passed the Senate unanimously last week.
“The goal here is to highlight the importance of agricultural studies,” said Turner. “Our current curricula did not reflect that by excluding it from courses that count toward the three required years of sciences, and may have deterred some students from pursuing those studies.”

Currently, the minimum requirements to gain admission to state universities include the completion of at least 15 units of high school coursework in the following subjects: English, Social studies, Mathematics, (Laboratory) Sciences and electives in either foreign language, music, vocational education, or art.

Additionally, some colleges may accept agricultural science under the auspices of a science course but not all are doing so. This legislation will add some conformity to the available options.

“We want to encourage students to feel confident and passionate about their career choices especially when choosing a field that has such a substantial and diverse impact,” said Turner.

The measure passed out of the Senate and is now in the House of Representatives for further consideration.

Category: Press Releases

Food Banks

Follow Sen. Turner


Office Info

Springfield Office:
108D Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-0228

Decatur Office:
1210 S. Jasper St.
Decatur, IL 62321
(217) 706-5311

eNewsletter Signup

eNewsletter Signup
  1. First Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  2. Last Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  3. Your Email(*)
    Please let us know your email address.